Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Guide to Harlem Renaissance Materials
This guide presents the Library of Congress resources as well as links to external websites on the Harlem Renaissance and those who made an impact on this era.
The Harlem Renaissance (John Carroll University)
This site is divided into sections on education, performers, French Connection, literature, political issues, religion, and philosophy. All sections provide a brief overview on these topics as it relates to the Harlem Renaissance, and provides external links leading to additional information.
The Harlem Renaissance (PBS)
This site provides a brief overview of the Harlem Renaissance, with some Q&A on the period.
A Brief Guide to the Harlem Renaissance
The Academy of American Poets website offers a variety of biographies and essays on the poets and poetry of the Harlem Renaissance.
The Black Renaissance in Washington D.C., 1920-1930's
The "Black Renaissance in Washington, DC" is funded by the Carnegie Corporation of New York. It is supported by the Art Division of the D.C. Public Library. Within this site there are biographies of notables of the Harlem Renaissance, book lists, timeline and related links. One key claim that is made on the site is: "Many citations in the literature refer to the Harlem Renaissance as a misnomer that inadequately describes a movement that occurred in cities across the country."
Online exhibition "retraces the vibrant years of one of the most famous neighborhoods in the world." Published by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
JazzAge Culture: Part I : Harlem Renaissance
[Internet Archive version] Good but eclectic collection of links from Dr. Kathleen Nichols, English professor at Pittsburg State University.
Drop Me Off in Harlem
"What happens when creative and intellectual minds, wealthy patrons, and fervent activists live in the same place? Discover how prominent figures in Harlem influenced, challenged, and supported one another in the period between 1917 and 1935. Investigate how their collective and individual voices reflected and shaped what we now call the Harlem Renaissance."
City Library Books
Harlem Renaissance by
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
The Harlem Renaissance: a historical dictionary for the era by
Publication Date: 1984-12-21
Contains alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about the people, places, events, and cultural expressions of the Harlem Renaissance, covering a period that ranges from 1917 to 1935.
Bound for Glory by
Publication Date: 1995-07-01
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance by
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
Reference Library of Black America [Volumes 1-5]
The Harlem Renaissance Revisited by
Publication Date: 2010-05-28
This volume provides new historical and literary insights into the Harlem Renaissance, returning attention to it not only as a broad expression of artistic work but also as a movement that found catharsis in art and hope in resistance.
By examining such major figures of the era as Jessie Fauset, Paul Robeson, and Zora Neale Hurston, the contributors reframe our understanding of the interplay of art, politics, culture, and society in 1920s Harlem. The fourteen essays explore the meaning and power of Harlem theater, literature, and art during the period; probe how understanding of racial, provincial, and gender identities originated and evolved; and reexamine the sociopolitical contexts of this extraordinary black creative class. Delving into these topics anew, The Harlem Renaissance Revisited reconsiders the national and international connections of the movement and how it challenged cliched interpretations of sexuality, gender, race, and class. The contributors show how those who played an integral role in shattering stereotypes about black creativity pointed the way toward real freedom in the United States, in turn sowing some of the seeds of the Black Power movement.
A fascinating chapter in the history of the African American experience and New York City, the cultural flowering of the Harlem Renaissance reverberates today. This thought-provoking combination of social history and intellectual art criticism opens this powerful moment in history to renewed and dynamic interpretation and sharper discussion.
The Making of the New Negro by
Publication Date: 2011-07-21
Examines black masculinity in the period of the Harlem Renaissance, using African American published texts, American archives and unpublished writings, and contemporaneous European discourses, focusing on prominent figures of the New Negro Movement and African American culture.
The African American Roots of Modernism by
Publication Date: 2011-06-06
Discusses how African American authors reacted to the Jim Crow system with migration narratives, poetry about the African American experience, and more, and looks at the legacy of writers and artists between the end of Reconstruction and the rise of the Harlem Renaissance.
The Harlem Renaissance by
Publication Date: 1999-11-30
During the Harlem Renaissance, African-American culture flourished. The period gave birth to numerous significant and enduring creative works that were at once American and emblematic of the black experience in particular. It was a time when African-American culture became more distinct from American culture in general, though it also continued to be a part of America's larger cultural heritage. While the writers, artists, and intellectuals who contributed to the Harlem Renaissance recognized that they had much in common, they also sought to distinguish themselves from one another. This book approaches the achievement of the Harlem Renaissance from the perspective of the conflict between individual and group identity.
The Harlem Renaissance in Black and White by
Publication Date: 1997-04-25
It wasn't all black or white. It wasn't a vogue. It wasn't a failure. By restoring interracial dimensions left out of accounts of the Harlem Renaissance--or blamed for corrupting it--George Hutchinson transforms our understanding of black (and white) literary modernism, interracial literary relations, and twentieth-century cultural nationalism in the United States. What has been missing from literary histories of the time is a broader sense of the intellectual context of the Harlem Renaissance, and Hutchinson supplies that here: Boas's anthropology, Park's sociology, various strands of pragmatism and cultural nationalism--ideas that shaped the New Negro movement and the literary field, where the movement flourished. Hutchinson tracks the resulting transformation of literary institutions and organizations in the 1920s, offering a detailed account of the journals and presses, black and white, that published the work of the "New Negroes." This cultural excavation discredits bedrock assumptions about the motives of white interest in the renaissance, and about black relationships to white intellectuals of the period. It also allows a more careful investigation than ever before of the tensions among black intellectuals of the 1920s. Hutchinson's analysis shows that the general expansion of literature and the vogue of writing cannot be divorced from the explosion of black literature often attributed to the vogue of the New Negro--any more than the growing sense of "Negro" national consciousness can be divorced from expanding articulations and permutations of American nationality. The book concludes with the first full-scale interpretation of the landmark anthology The New Negro.
A courageous work that exposes the oversimplifications and misrepresentations of popular readings of the Harlem Renaissance, this book reveals the truly composite nature of American literary culture.
Librarian and Extended Essay Coordinator