It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JSTOR is an online archive of academic journals and primary sources. The JSTOR archive includes content in History, Language & Literature, Religion, Art & Art History, Education, Law, Science and Political Science. Most journals in the archive are added 3-5 years after the publication date.
All results contain the images and context of the original publication.
All results are full-text .pdf files.
Content continually updated.
Search Our Catalog
Immigration by Jeff Hay (Editor)
Publication Date: 2001-03-12
Contains twenty-two essays that examine the history of immigration in the United States from 1830 to 1924, looking at the reasons why people moved to the U.S. from Europe, Asia, and Mexico, how they were received, their accomplishments, and the problems of assimilation.
Immigration by Teresa O'Neill (Editor)
Publication Date: 1992-09-01
Presents opposing viewpoints on immigration in the United States taken from various sources.
Guarding the Golden Door by Roger Daniels
Publication Date: 2004-01-15
Traces immigration policy in the United States, explaining America's inconsistent, often illogical, policies and how they have impacted world history.
The Criminalization of Immigration by Alissa R. Ackerman (Editor); Rich Furman (Editor)
information on the Chicano experience and the emergent social dynamics in the United States as a result of Mexican immigration. Provides readers with an ... understanding of the changing demographics of the Mexican immigrant population in the United States. Analyzes the major trends in U.S. immigration, including anti-immigrant policies, issues facing the unauthorized immigrant population, and the development of the immigrant rights movement
A comprehensive review of American immigration history since 1600 which examines the lives of immigrants from across all of the country's borders and analyses the relationship between immigration, race, slavery, and colonial expansion.
Former Mexican foreign minister Jorge G. Castaneda reveals the truth behind widely held myths about America's Mexican immigrant population, explaining why many Mexican immigrants choose to come to America, how they are treated by the government and American citizens, what challenges they face on a daily basis, and other related topics.
"... provides an authoritative assessment of how immigration is reshaping the politics of the nation. Using an array of data and analysis, Marisa Abrajano and Zoltan Hajnal show that fears about immigration fundamentally influence white Americans' core political identities, policy preferences, and electoral choices, and that these concerns are at the heart of a large-scale defection of whites from the Democratic to the Republican Party. Abrajano and Hajnal demonstrate that this political backlash has disquieting implications for the future of race relations in America"--
"Looks at the role illegality or undocumentedness plays in our society and economy. It shows how the status was created, and how and why people, especially Mexicans and Central Americans, have been assigned this status"