Databases - Journal Articles - IB Physics - LibGuides at The Baltimore City College

Open Access Physics Journals

Applied Physics Research Applied Physics Research is an international, double-blind peer-reviewed, open-access journal published by the Canadian Center of Science and Education. The journal focuses on the following topics: acoustics, astrophysics and geophysics, biophysics, computational physics, condensed matter physics, engineering physics, free electron physics, laser and quantum electronics, medical physics, optics, semiconductor physics and devices, solid state physics, space physics.
The European Physical Journal C The European Physical Journal C (EPJ C) is an open-access journal funded by SCOAP3 (scoap3.org) and licensed under CC BY 4.0. EPJ C presents new and original research results in theoretical physics and experimental physics, in a variety of formats, including Regular Articles, Reviews, Tools for Experiment and Theory, Scientific Notes and Letters. The range of topics is extensive:
Journal of Physics: Conference Series 2004 +
New Journal of Physics 1998 +
The Open Plasma Physics Journal 2008+
Physical Review Letters - Celebrate the International Year of Light 2015 was designated the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies by UNESCO. This global initiative aims to highlight the importance of light in our everyday lives and how it has contributed to the development of society. To celebrate this yearlong event, the editors of the Physical Review journals have organized a collection of papers that represent important breakthroughs in the field of optics, from fundamental insights into how light behaves, to findings that were critical in the development of everyday technologies
Physical Review Special Topics - Accelerators and Beams Accelerators and Beams (PRST-AB) is a peer-reviewed, online-only, open access journal funded by contributions from national and international laboratories and other partners. It covers the full range of accelerator science and technology.
Physical Review Special Topics - Physics Education Research Physics Education Research (PRST-PER) is a peer-reviewed, online-only, open access journal covering the full range of experimental and theoretical research on the teaching and learning of physics.
Physical Review X Physical Review X (PRX) is an online-only, fully open access, peer-reviewed journal that aims to publish, as timely as possible, exceptional original research papers from all areas of pure, applied, and interdisciplinary physics.
Physics | Digital Commons Network
PhysNet Physics related free-access Journals
PLOS ONE: Mathematical Physics
PLOS ONE: Particle Physics
PLOS ONE: Physics

IOP Science

Which journals are completely open access?

IOP Science

JSTOR

Username:bcchs

Password:ipuweda

JSTOR is an online archive of academic journals and primary sources. The JSTOR archive includes content in History, Language & Literature, Religion, Art & Art History, Education, Law, Science and Political Science.

All results contain the images and context of the original publication.
All results are full-text .pdf files.
Content continually updated.

Enoch Pratt Science Databases (you need an Enoch Pratt card number)

Sciences Online
Science Online conveys the visual nature of science in a clear and easy-to-comprehend manner. All content in this comprehensive database is divided into sections based on the science curriculum established by the National Science Education Standards, enabling students and researchers to access printable diagrams, definitions, biographies, and essays in a specific subject area or discipline.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Contains:
* 181 Science Periodicals *625 Science reference books * 23 Science Encyclopedias * 812 Science Essays * 3,790 full length Biographies of Scientists
* 519 Science Videos * And Much More
Gale Virtual Reference Library
The GVRL: Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online ebook based reference collection.

Searching: Open Web, Databases, & GoogleScholar

It is very frustrating to enter something into a search box and get tens of thousands of results. Or, worse yet, not finding anything you need! Good Internet searching, on the free web, with GoogleScholar and in Databases, only comes with practice. Here are some tips that work no matter where you search:

Boolean Searches & Search Tips

Use AND to find all your search terms

migrant AND labour AND remittances

Use OR to find any of your search terms

migration OR remittances

Search for exact phrases using quotations " " (this is important to prevent confusion with "economic development".)

“development economics”

Use truncation (*) to find different word endings and plurals

econom* finds economist, economic, economics, economy, economical…

Use the Wildcard (?) to find variations in spelling

labo?r finds labor and labour

Use brackets ( ) for complex search statements

“development economics” AND (migration OR remittances)

Limit your domain

"economic development" AND thailand site:.org
"economic development" AND thailand site:.edu

IB Physics: Databases - Journal Articles

Open Access Physics Journals

IOP Science

JSTOR

Enoch Pratt Science Databases (you need an Enoch Pratt card number)

Searching: Open Web, Databases, & GoogleScholar

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles