LibGuides: Global Politics: Haiti Earthquake: Home

Background Web Sources

Country Study: Haiti (Library of Congress Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.)
UNICEF Haiti (Statistics on the health and education of Haiti's children before the Earthquake.)
US Department of State Background Note: Haiti
World Bank: Key Development Data & Statistics
World Factbook Haiti

Free Web Sources

CNN Haiti Earthquake (Continuing coverage from Cable News Network)
Democracy Now! (A national, daily, independent, news program)
Embassy of Haiti
Haitian Times (Online edition of the English-language Haitian newsweekly)
ReliefWeb Haiti: Earthquakes - Jan 2010 (On-line gateway to documents and maps on humanitarian emergencies and disasters)
United Nations Stabilization Mission to Haiti
United States Embassy in Port Au Prince
White House Blog (Presidential response to the crisis)
World Health Organization: Haiti
Earthquake (From the USAID: Haiti website featuring what the organization has been doing since the disaster occurred)
Haiti Earthquake Facts and Figures (From the Disasters Emergency Commission's website)
Fierce Earthquake Devastates Haitian Capital (An article from the NY Times website originally published in January 2010 immediately after the earthquake)
Haiti (From the OXFAM International, a relief organization, this page outlines the efforts they have done in Haiti. Includes links to other articles as well)
Haiti Earthquake 2010 (From news publisher Thomson Reuters AlertNet educational website)
A Week After Quake, Haitians Still Looking for Aid (From the PBS News Hour Extra website, this article published a week after the quake outlines both what happened and some background information on the island nation. Also includes links to other articles)

Haiti Earthquake: Crisis and Response

City Library Books

The Big Truck That Went By by Jonathan M. Katz
ISBN: 9781137278975
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Jonathan M. Katz was the only full-time American news correspondent in Haiti on January 12, 2010, when the deadliest earthquake in the history of the Western Hemisphere struck the island nation. In this visceral first-hand account, Katz takes readers inside the terror of that day, the devastation visited on ordinary Haitians, and through the monumental--yet misbegotten--rescue effort that followed.

More than half of American adults gave money for Haiti, part of a global response totaling $16.3 billion in pledges. But four years later the effort has foundered. Its most important promises-to rebuild safer cities, alleviate severe poverty, and strengthen Haiti to face future disasters-remain unfulfilled. How did so much generosity amount to so little? What went wrong? In what a Miami Herald Op-Ed called "the most important written work to emerge from the rubble," Katz follows the money to uncover startling truths about how good intentions go wrong, and what can be done to make aid "smarter." Reporting alongside Bill Clinton, Wyclef Jean, Sean Penn, and Haiti's leaders and people, Katz creates a complex, darkly funny, and unexpected portrait of one of the world's most fascinating countries. The Big Truck That Went By is not only a definitive account of Haiti's earthquake, but of the world we live in today.
Haiti after the Earthquake by Paul Farmer
ISBN: 9781610390989
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
“Paul Farmer, doctor and aid worker, offers an inspiring insider’s view of the relief effort.”—Financial Times
“The book’s greatest strength lies in its depiction of the post-quake chaos… In the book’s more analytical sections the author’s diagnosis of the difficulties of reconstruction is sharp.” —Economist

“A gripping, profoundly moving book, an urgent dispatch from the front by one of our finest warriors for social justice.” —Adam Hochschild

“His honest assessment of what the people trying to help Haiti did well—and where they failed—is important for anyone who cares about the country or international aid in general.” —Miami Herald

Enoch Pratt Reference Ebooks (Need Enoch Pratt Card Number)

The Haiti Earthquake by Diane Andrews Henningfeld (Editor)
ISBN: 9780737763676
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
This title explores the events of the 2010 Haiti earthquake, issues surrounding US aid and military efforts; inconsistencies of the death tolls; and controversies surrounding the adoptions of Haitian orphans, and personal narratives from people who experienced the earthquake.

The Haiti Earthquake

Librarian and Extended Essay Coordinator

Jennifer Berg Gaither

Email Me

JSTOR

Username:bcchs

Password:ipuweda

JSTOR is an online archive of academic journals and primary sources. The JSTOR archive includes content in History, Language & Literature, Religion, Art & Art History, Education, Law, Science and Political Science. Most journals in the archive are added 3-5 years after the publication date.

All results contain the images and context of the original publication.
All results are full-text .pdf files.
Content continually updated.