Human Trafficking: Selected Websites

"Creates real and lasting changes in countries around the world by launching and supporting anti-trafficking projects." Includes text of articles, speeches, legislation, international agreements, etc.

"Provides intensive case management, comprehensive services, and advocacy to survivors." Watch and listen to the stories of survivors.

"A coalition of 25 non-governmental organizations that provide services to, and advocate for the rights of, trafficking survivors in the United States." Reports and articles available.

"Promotes rights of women migrant workers and trafficked persons." Download PDF files of full reports and working papers.

Read the Trafficking in Persons Reports from 2001 through the present.

"Combats all forms of human trafficking and serves both U.S. citizens and foreign national victims..." Provides downloadable reports, maps, etc.

News and interviews related to Human Trafficking by WGBH.org, particularly in relation to the New England area.

The CIA World Factbook provides detailed information about countries including government, geography, people, and economy.

"Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world."

"Find the most recent country reports submitted... to the Division for the Advancement of Women."

Provides health related data for all United Nations member countries.

"Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 3 million supporters, members and activists in more than 150 countries and territories who campaign to end grave abuses of human rights."

"One of the world’s leading independent organizations dedicated to defending and protecting human rights." Search for publications about the exploitation of women and girls in various countries.

Use huridocs, a human rights search engine to search for PDF documents related to women's human rights

"Works with partners to conduct empirical research, ...and advocate for evidence-based, practical ways to change policies and programs." Searchable, downloadable database of PDF files.

Organization devoted to "advance women's human rights by meeting urgent needs in communities and building lasting solutions to crisis."

"Facilitates monitoring of the UN system, information sharing and the enabling of meaningful dialogue for positive impact on women’s lives in conflict and post-conflict environments."

PDF files of human rights reports available by country.

Sections 307 and 308 of the Act amend the original Tariff Act of 1930
to include provisions to prohibit the importation of goods to the United States made by benefit of human trafficking or forced labor.

Section 7202 of the Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act established the Human Smuggling and Trafficking Center to achieve
greater integration and overall effectiveness in the U.S. government's enforcement and other response efforts, and to work with foreign
governments to address the separate but related issues of alien smuggling, trafficking in persons, and criminal support of clandestine
terrorist travel.

The Department fights human smuggling and trafficking through the
issuance of CAFRA, which provides notice to property owners whose properties have been identified as being used to facilitate smuggling or
harboring aliens; it is an important tool because many employers turn a blind eye to the facilitation of criminal activity on their properties.

The Mann Act and its subsequent amendment resolutions makes it a felony to knowingly persuade, induce, entice, or coerce an individual to travel across state lines to engage in prostitution or attempts to do so. It is an effective tool used to prosecute human traffickers.