Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TITLE: An investigation into the functions of mask in two of Zeami Motokiyo´s plays.
RESEARCH QUESTION: What are the main uses and types of mask in Noh drama, and how does the mask contribute to the creation of a character in Noh?
TITLE: Female stereotypes and their performance in a selection of Brecht´s plays.
RESEARCH QUESTION: What female stereotypes did Brecht employ in his plays, and how can these be compared and contrasted in performance, based on an analysis of a selection of Brecht´s plays?
TITLE: An examination of Soyinka´s use of rhythm in acting, based on an in-depth exploration of a Soyinka play.
RESEARCH QUESTION: How did Soyinka use language rhythms in his plays and how may these rhythms be applied in production?
Theatre in Southeast Asia by
Publication Date: 1967-01-01
Women Playing Men by
Publication Date: 2008-12-01
Japanese Theatre by
Publication Date: 1974-06-15
Japanese Theatre by
Publication Date: 1995-03-09
Balinese Dance, Drama and Music by
Publication Date: 2011-03-10
Balinese Masks by
Publication Date: 2011-03-10
Peking Opera by
Publication Date: 2012-03-09
Publication Date: 2008-02-15
The Cambridge Guide to Asian Theatre by
Publication Date: 1997-01-28
Power Plays by
Publication Date: 2004-11-22
Based on ethnographic fieldwork spanning twenty years, Power Plays is the first scholarly book in English on wayang golek, the Sundanese rod-puppet theater of West Java. It is a detailed and lively account of the ways in which performers of this major Asian theatrical form have engaged with political discourses in Indonesia. Wayang golek has shaped, as well, the technological and commercial conditions of art and performance in a modernizing society.
The Age of Shakespeare by
Publication Date: 2004-02-03
Looking at Shakespeare by
Publication Date: 2001-12-20
Dennis Kennedy's comprehensive account of the main scenographic movements of the century investigates how visual elements affect Shakespeare on the stage. This second edition ranges through productions in Britain, Europe, Japan and North America and includes a new chapter on Shakespeare performance in the 1990s. There are more than twenty new illustrations, some of them in color, and previous references have been updated.
Shakespeare in the Theatre by
Publication Date: 1997-11-27
Greek and Roman Theatre by
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
The Making of the American Theatre by
Drama critic of the New York Times, Howard Taubman here reviews the history of theatre in America, from 1665, when three men in a Virginia court defended themselves against the charge of acting a play and were held free of crime, to 1965 and its different difficulties. He writes up the playwrights, producers, and players of the times, assesses plays (from Tyler's Contract to Albee's Virginia Woolf) for dross and gold in the light of the contemporary and the current day, points our trends and discusses movements.
Oxford Companion to the Theatre by
Publication Date: 1983-10-13
Since the third edition of The Oxford Companion to the Theatre appeared in 1967, theatre throughout the world, and especially in European and all English-speaking countries, has undergone a series of changes swifter and more far-reaching than at any other time in its history. While maintaining the primary purpose of preceding editions in providing a solid survey of the development of the theatre from its beginnings in primitive ritual to the present day in all countries that have a continuing theatrical tradition, this new edition offers more information on contemporary writers, directors, players, companies, and theatres, both metropolitan and regional. An extensive system of cross-referencing leads the reader to entries containing related information, and a generous bibliography offers a guidance on further reading. Entries dealing with technical subjects emphasize the historical perspective, throwing light on the remarkable accomplishments of earlier practitioners of theatrical illusion: they are illustrated where necessary with diagrams. Over 200 other illustrations are placed in thematically-arranged groups: functioning independently of the text, they show the changes of vision brought to bear on theatrical production over more than 2000 years.
The Oxford Illustrated History of Theatre by
Publication Date: 1995-11-09
The Oxford Illustrated History of Theatre, an authoritative and lavishly illustrated new history, celebrates the stage's greatest achievements over 4,500 years, from festival performances in ancient Egypt to international, multicultural drama in the late twentieth century, and from Sophocles and Aristophanes to George Gershwin and Harold Pinter.
Here are the playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, and more, accessibly and attractively arranged so that everyone with a passion for the stage can follow the glorious procession of this triumphant art throughout history and across cultures. The Oxford Illustrated History of the Theatre guides readers through the full spectrum of dramatic representation as well as giving due weight to how the scene backstage evolved through the centuries--the role of musicians, light, sound, and equipment, and the art of set design--and to the crucial role of the audience and critics. Finally, there are stimulating essays on the history of Asian theater and a concluding account of theater since 1970 by editor John Russell Brown that highlights the contributions of our best-loved contemporary playwrights, directors, and lyricists.
Spectacular illustrations throughout bring the very visual nature of theater to life, serving as dramatic accompaniment to the text.
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre by
Publication Date: 1995-09-21
Contains over 3,500 entries with information on the history and modern practice of theater in all parts of the world, arranged alphabetically and covering major playwrights and their works, theater traditions, theories, practitioners, and events.
The Encyclopedia of World Theater by
Publication Date: 1977-01-01
2,000 alphabetically arranged, crossreferenced entries provide concise information on all aspects of world theater in the past and present.
International Dictionary of Theatre by
Publication Date: 1992-02-01
International and historical in scope, this reference focuses on 600 of the world's most significant plays, with an authoritative essay on each play and more than 300 photographs
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama by
Publication Date: 2007-07-03
A wholly unique A to Z reference for modern drama, this authoritative encyclopedia differs from others in highlighting the interdisciplinary nature of drama by placing playwrights and plays within their social, cultural, and historical contexts. Over 450 leading scholars provide students, general readers, and scholars with clearly written and concise entries that steer clear of technical jargon while also offering advanced readers new perspectives on familiar figures, movements, trends, issues, and texts. The Encyclopedia concentrates on drama in the literary sense rather than as performance.
The scope of this encyclopedia is truly global. The editors follow the development of modern theater in both Western Europe (England, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Germany, Austria, Italy, Ireland, France, Spain) and Eastern Europe; in Russia, China, Japan, India, and all of Southeast Asia; in Australia and New Zealand; in the United States and Canada; in Latin America, Africa, and in the Yiddish language. Entries are at least 500 words, richly researched and innovatively written. In "Brecht" the playwright's central themes and theories on theater are contextualized within the story of his exile, which paints a larger portrait of the cultural and political state of Europe at the time. In "Spain" the stories of certain theaters and prominent playwrights, such as Federico Garcia Lorca, are woven within the history of the country itself. And a colorful look at "Off Broadway" emphasizes the importance of theater economics and reveals its influence in shaping the development of drama.
The Cambridge Companion to Victorian and Edwardian Theatre by
Publication Date: 2004-02-19
Punch and Judy by
Publication Date: 2006-07-28
This chronicle traces the origins of puppetry's famous duo from Punch's birth in Italy to his travels across medieval Europe. Equally favored by commoners and nobility, Punch's horseplay proved as popular in France, Germany, and England as in his native country. In addition to examining the puppet show's moral and cultural significance, this book takes a look at the people behind the curtain
Theatre and Sexuality by
Publication Date: 2010-07-15
Theatre and Sexuality introduces critical methods and artistic practices that link drama, theatre and performance with minority sexualities in both the U.S. and UK. It narrates a select history of LGBTQ theatre from the early 20th century through today. Including an extended reading of Split Britches/Bloolips' production Belle Reprieve, the book offers clear analysis, as well as a celebration, of LGBTQ performance.
Publication Date: 2001-12-07
A groundbreaking, cross-cultural reference work exploring the diversity of expression found in rituals, festivals, and performances, uncovering acting techniques and practices from around the world.
African American Theatre
African American Performance and Theater History : A Critical Reader by
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
African-American Performance and Theatre History is an anthology of critical writings that explores the intersections of race, theater, and performance in America. Assembled by two respected scholars in black theater and composed of essays from acknowledged authorities in the field (Joseph Roach and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. among other), this volume is organized into four sections representative of the ways black theater, drama, and performance past and present interact and enact continuous social, cultural, and political dialogues. The premise behind the book is that analyzing African-American theater and performance traditions offers insight into how race has operated and continues to operate in American society. The only one-volume collection of its kind, this volume is likely to become the central reference for those studying black theater.
A History of African American Theatre by
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
This definitive history of African-American theatre embraces companies from across the U.S., as well as the anglophone Caribbean and African-American companies touring Europe, Australia and Africa. Representing a catholicity of styles, from African ritual to European forms, amateur to professional, and political nationalism to integration, the volume covers all aspects of performance. It includes minstrel, vaudeville, and cabaret acts, as well as shows written by whites that used black casts.
The Theatre of Black Americans by
Publication Date: 2000-04-01
From the origins of the Negro spiritual and the birth of the Harlem Renaissance to the emergence of a national black theatre movement, The Theatre of Black Americans offers a penetrating look at a black art form that has exploded into an American cultural institution. Among the essays: James Hatch Some African Influences on the Afro-American Theatre; Shelby Steele Notes on Ritual in the New Black Theatre; Sister M. Francesca Thompson OSF The Lafayette Players; Ronald Ross The Role of Blacks in the Federal Theatre.
Performance, Style and Gesture in Western Theatre
Nicholas Dromgoole tells the story of performance from a fresh and unusual point of view, describing the development - from ancient Greece to contemporary stages and film - of western Europe's surprising and largely unknown variety of acting styles. Using the idea of a culture's shared 'language of gesture', he explores the growth, evolution and impact these languages have had on our engagement with and understanding of theatre.
The Routledge Dictionary of Performance and Contemporary Theatre
It takes us from Activism to Zapping, analysing everything along the way from Body Art and the Flashmob to Multimedia and the Postdramatic.
What we think of as 'performance' and 'drama' has undergone a transformation in recent decades. Similarly how these terms are defined, used and critiqued has also changed, thanks to interventions from a panoply of theorists from Derrida to Ranciere. Patrice Pavis's Dictionary provides an indispensible roadmap for this complex and fascinating terrain; a volume no theatre bookshelf can afford to be without.
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Theatre: Its Art and Craft is an introductory theatre text focusing on theatre practitioners and their processes. Using an accessible tone and a focused exploration of how theatre artists work, the book covers playwrights, directors, actors, designers of sets, costumes, props, lights, sound, and new technology, as well as the varying roles of scholars, critics, and dramaturgs. Appropriate for beginning theatre majors, minors, or non-majors, Theatre: Its Art and Craft helps students understand how theatre happens, who makes it, and what they do.
Theater and Psychology
Scenes of Madness: A psychiatrist at the theatre by
Publication Date: 1991-10-10
Derek Russell Davis argues that mental health professionals working in a hospital or clinic setting can learn much from playwrights about the psychological processes in mental illness. Looking at such diverse characters as Orestes, Hamlet, Lear, Ophelia, Peer Gynt, Oswald Alving and Blanche Dubois, Dr Davis shows how madness in plays is put into the context of the crucial experiences in an individual's history and current relationships, and demonstrates that these stories can be a new and exciting source of insight into mental illness.
Madness at the theatre by
Studies the theatrical representation of madness from the classical Greek period through to the 21st century. Charts the changing portrayal of madness by the worlds great playwrights across the centuries.
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre by
Publication Date: 1994-03-01
The Secret Life of the American Musical by
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
In The Secret Life of the American Musical, Jack Viertel takes them apart, puts them back together, sings their praises, marvels at their unflagging inventiveness, and occasionally despairs over their more embarrassing shortcomings. In the process, he invites us to fall in love all over again by showing us how musicals happen, what makes them work, how they captivate audiences, and how one landmark show leads to the next―by design or by accident, by emulation or by rebellion―from Oklahoma! to Hamilton and onward.
Studying Musical Theatre by
Publication Date: 2014-12-04
The ideal accompaniment to any study of musical theatre, this lively textbook provides a comprehensive overview of the history, theory and practice of this popular theatre form. Bringing critical theory and musical theatre together, Millie Taylor and Dominic Symonds explore the musical stage from a broad range of theoretical perspectives, including narrative theory, orientalism, gender theory and globalization.