Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Extended Essay Guide: Finding Resources

Locating Sources From Anywhere

You can research from anywhere. Here is a Libguide for City College Student's virtual library:

Baltimore City College Joseph Meyehoff Library Access, 24/7

Keywords!

Keywords  “unlock” the passages that will lead you to useful information.  Where do I find keywords? Generally start with your research question. As you read, you should highlight, underline, or jot down important words and phrases that are specifically related to your subject area. General keywords will ultimately be narrowed to more specific words, terms and phrases that relate directly to your topic.

You might try setting up 3 columns, one for key phrases, a second for keywords, and a third for synonyms (words that mean the essentially the same as your keyword) or related terms. Sample Research Question: “To what extent are state and federal tax dollars used to support cultural enrichment for all citizens regardless of socio-economic status?”

Key Phrases

Key Words

Synonyms/Related Words

public funding for the arts

citizens

state/federal funding for arts

cultural enrichment

arts

cultural arts/fine arts

working Poor

working class/ minimum wage earner

tax dollars

income taxes, state taxes, federal taxes

Americans

cultural opportunities

As you research, keep track of your keyword usage. Here is a helpful chart:

Website that helps build keywords for you:

 Search Strategy Builder

Why Use Databases Instead of Google?

1.     You can be sure you are getting only credible sources.

2.     You can get articles that are written by scholars and experts in the field.

3.     The peer-review or editorial process provides some assurance that the information is accurate.

4.     Articles are usually signed by the author-- the author's name is on the line for the quality of the article.

5.     You can tell if the authors are affiliated with a university and may be able contact them.

6.     Articles in a library database are more likely to continue to be available--information on the open web can change or disappear from day to day.

7.     Your tax dollars pays for the library to get these databases for you.  You might as well use what you've paid for.

8.     Your teacher asked you.

So what is a database? It is a collection of data or information organized in a specific manner so that the information can be easily accessed. 

In the library it is referred to as an online collection of scholarly articles that you can search by using keywords.

The Web vs. Library Databases – A Comparison

Scholarly Journal vs Article in a Popular Magazine

There is a difference between articles in a peer-reviewed/scholarly journal and an article in a popular magazine. Journal articles go through a lengthy review process by other experts in that subject area. Whereas the popular magazine article is generally the opinion of the writer, approval is only done by a general editor, and bears very little factual evidence to defend their claims.

Do Not Rely on Websites

Quick Tip

The references used by the author in an article or book you're reading is a great place to find additional resources for your project!

JSTOR

Username:bcchs

Password:ipuweda

JSTOR is an online archive of academic journals and primary sources. The JSTOR archive includes content in History, Language & Literature, Religion, Art & Art History, Education, Law, Science and Political Science. Most journals in the archive are added 3-5 years after the publication date.

City College Libguides

Check out the EE research guides for easy access to print and digital resources for different topics

Access Books & eBooks

Our library has purchased eBooks and they are now available for your use. These eBooks can be accessed in school or from home using an internet-enabled computer or device.

To access our eBooks, go directly to our Follett eBook Shelf: https://search.follettsoftware.com/metasearch/ui/49902/  

Log in with your Destiny username and password.

Or Use The Follett Destiny Search Box Below To Find Both Books & eBooks In City's Catalog.